Welcome to the web site for the

North Carolina Continuing Care Residents Association

≫≫  Latest News and Events  ≪≪
NorCCRA Growth

The state organization of residents of continuing care communities has come a long way from its origins in 1988. The number of communities represented has grown from 8 to 38. The present membership exceeds 4000 and is growing each year. Our Annual meeting in October yearly draws 300 residents to Greensboro where it is held in the Christ United Methodist Church. It is held there due to its central location and because none of our facilities can provide a meeting room large enough to handle 300 or more people.

All of this has happened because of a small group in 1988 who decided that Continuing Care Communities were a unique living arrangement that were not adequately protected by existing state law. The leader of this group was Mr. Harry E. Groves, a retired Dean of the University of North Carolina Law School and winner of a Ford Foundation Fellowship to Harvard University. Mr. Groves, a native of Colorado and the holder of numerous awards for scholastic achievements, was the principal author of what is now Chapter 64 of the North Carolina General Statutes. The statute provides that each resident of a continuing care community shall be provided with a Disclosure Statement which has been approved by the Commissioner of Insurance together with a residency agreement describing the rights and privileges of the resident. The law also provides for operating reserves and methods by which the Commissioner can intercede in event of financial distress of any given community.

This statute, which has been amended several times in the passing years, provides the basic protection of residents and supervision of administrative organizations which have been licensed by the Commissioner of Insurance to operate continuing care facilities. There are now 55 Continuing Care facilities in the state.

Due to the long East to West distance in North Carolina, the state has been divided up into three regions, Eastern, Central, and Western. Each region has their own officers, a Regional Representative who serves on the state Executive Committee, an Alternate, a Secretary and Treasurer. To date, this arrangement is working out well.